Shaw Contract - Offices

IN its thirteenth year, Shaw Contract’s Design Awards programme recognises the creative vision of the architects and designers who inspire new ways of living, working, learning and healing. The Awards place a spotlight on a diverse range of talents from across the globe, celebrating design in action and purposefully rewarding the innovative and truly inspiring work being done by the architecture and design community around the world.

Today, Shaw Contract announces the winners of the final and people’s choice awards, which represent the highest calibre of work within the industry. An esteemed panel of design professionals selected five Final Winners. Meanwhile, the general public chose the people’s choice winner through an online voting process. There were more than 500 entries submitted from 36 countries. These winning firms will be featured on

‘This year’s winners illustrate the direct, positive impact design has on the people inhabiting a space and on the organisations whose purposes are lived out in these environments,’ says John Stephens, vice president of marketing for Shaw Contract. ‘The design thinking evident in these entries reflects the creativity of our clients in developing sustainable spaces. We celebrate the work and the designers who turned great concepts into exciting spaces.’
The 2018 winning projects are:

Final Winners
ACDF Architecture, in collaboration with Couper-Croiser, Montréal, Quebec, Canada
Project: Playster Media Office, Montréal, Quebec, Canada
Fokkema & Partners Architecten, Delft, The Netherlands
Project: Habraken Rutten, Rotterdam, The Netherlands
 Gensler, Washington, D.C., USA
Project: Ellucian, Reston, VA, USA
Gray Puksand, Melbourne, Australia
Project: David Jones and Country Road Group Head Office, Melbourne, Australia
Jackson Clements Burrows Architects, Melbourne, Australia
Project: Mercedes Me, Moe, Australia
People’s Choice Winner
RossTarrant Architects | Lexington, KY, USA
Project: Western Kentucky University, Ogden College Hall | Bowling Green, KY, USA
Three distinguished members of the design community evaluated each project based on its design solutions beyond aesthetic quality. The jurors reviewed the challenges, processes and results of each project and how each design team defined design. A persistent design theme in many of the winning projects was an emphasis on bringing the feeling of home into contract environments.
 The judging panel included:
Karen Daroff | Principal, Daroff Design
Sophie Safrin | Founder and Design Director, Hot Black Interior Design
Kelly Dubisar | Design Director,
Gensler San Francisco